Barbara Cappochin Biennial International Architecture Prize

The eighth edition of the Barbara Cappochin Biennial International Architecture Prize was launched on 3 May 2019 during the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE) Congress in Innsbruck, Austria. Organised by the Barbara Cappochin Foundation, the prize seeks to spotlight the central role that architecture plays in the evolution of landscape. It focusses on urban peripheries, the use of bio-architecture, energy efficiency and sustainable urban development. The biennial prize has been supported by the UIA since its creation in 2005.


Entries are invited for projects completed between 1 July 2016 and 30 June 2019. All the works must involve new edification, extension or requalification of existing buildings or landscape architecture undertaken by qualified and registered architects or multidisciplinary teams.


Entries are invited for the following categories:

  1. Public and private residential architecture;
  2. Commercial architecture;
  3. Public facilities (educational, cultural, social health, religious, sports, recreational, landscape architecture);
  4. Sustainable urban regeneration/eco-districts.


The winner will receive a prize of 30,000 euros

The jury will award three honourable mentions and may decide to designate a “Special Mention of the Jury”


  1. George Pendl, President of the Architects’ Council Europe - ACE (Austria)
  2. Oliver Bastin, President of the Federation of Belgian Architects and UIA representative (Belgium)
  3. Nicola Di Battista, Director in charge of the Magazine “The Architect” of the CNAPPC (Italy)
  4. Carme Pinos, Architect (Spain).

A representative of the National Council of Architects, Planners, Landscapers and Conservationists (CNAPPC) of Italy will act as jury president.


  • Launch: 3 May 2019
  • Deadline for submitting entries: 30 June 2019
  • Jury meeting: 18-19 July 2019
  • Award ceremony: 26 October 2019


For more information: